Department of Linguistics


Introduction

The Department of Linguistics offers undergraduate students who wish to specialize in linguistics a broad range of relevant introductory courses, including courses in phonology and phonetics, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, philosophy of language, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, applied linguistics, lexicology and lexicography, historical-comparative linguistics, and Balkan linguistics.

At the postgraduate level, the Department offers programs of study leading to postgraduate diplomas in (a) Theoretical Linguistics, (b) Applied Linguistics, or (c) Historical and Balkan Linguistics, and provides supervision for doctoral research in the same fields.

Since 1980, the Department organizes annually an international meeting devoted to the linguistic study of Greek, and publishes its proceedings under the title “Studies in Greek Linguistics”.

For information on the work and research interests of the Department’s academic staff members, please visit their individual web pages, linked to their names in the list below.

Staff

Professors
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Pavlidou Theodossia-Soula 2310 997054, 2310 991315, 2310 991316 305 o.b. Tuesday 14.00-15.00, Wednesday 18.00-19.00
Stavrou Melita 2310 997144 301 o.b. Tuesday 11.00-13.00, Wednesday 10.00-11.00 & 14.00-15.00
Tsohatzidis Savas 2310 997105 2α n.w. Thursday 16.30-19.00, Friday 17.30-19.00
Tzitzilis Christos 2310 997164 304 o.b. Monday 17.00-19.00, Wednesday 9.00-11.00
Associate Professors
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Giannakis Georgios 2310 997104 305 old building Educational leave
Koutsogiannis Dimitris 2310 997263 312 o.b. Tuesday 15.30-17.30, Thursday 13.30-15.00
Revithiadou Anthi 2310 997065 301 o.b. Wednesday 16.00-18.00, Thursday 16.00-18.00
Assistant Professors
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Karali Maria 2310 997407 304 o.b. Tuesday 18.00-20.00, Thursday 17.00-19.00
Kyriazis Doris 2310 997155 303 o.b. Tuesday 11.00-13.00, Thursday 11.00-13.00
Papadopoulou Despina 2310 997053 109 o.b. Monday 14.00-16.00, Wednesday 16.00-18.00
Papanastasiou Georgios 2310 997257 312 o.b. Monday 11.00-13.00, Thursday 11.00-12.00, Friday 11.00-12.00 (418 n.b.)
Thedoropoulou Maria 2310 997962 301 o.b. Monday 13.00-15.00, Tuesday 13.00-15.00
Lecturers
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Tantos Alexandros 2310 997144 301 o.b. Monday 16.00-18.00, Wednesday 12.00-14.00
Teaching Assistants
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Dota Eleni 2310 997409 309 o.b.
Administrative staff
Name Tel. Office Office Hours
Bouchouroudi Euthalia 2310 997419 309 o.b.