Courses in the School of Philology are offered on a semester basis. There are two semesters per academic year and each semester consists of at least fifteen weeks (thirteen teaching weeks and two or more weeks for examinations). The Fall Semester begins in early October and ends in mid January, and the Spring Semester begins in mid February and ends in late May. There are three examination periods: in late January – early February; in June; and in September, before the beginning of Fall Semester, during which the students have the right to be examined in the courses of both the Fall and Spring Semesters. The student is expected to graduate within four academic years or eight semesters. The undergraduate program includes two phases of four semesters each. During the first phase students are offered a wide range of courses aiming at a general philological training. The second phase allows students to specialize in one of the following three areas, corresponding to the School's three Departments: (i) Classics, (ii) Medieval and Modern Greek, and (iii) Linguistics. All courses are taught three hours per week and offer three credits.


The Graduate Program offers two degrees:
a) Master Degree, which is awarded upon completion of successful graduate work during four semesters and the writing of an M.A. thesis.

Department of Classics
I. Ancient Greek Philology
II. Latin Philology

Department of Medieval and Modern Greek Philology
Ι. Medieval Greek Philology
ΙΙ. Modern Greek Philology
ΙΙΙ. Theory of Literature and Comparative Literature

Department of Linguistics
Ι. Theoretical Linguistics
ΙΙ. Applied Linguistics
ΙΙΙ. Historical and Balkan Linguistics

b) Ph.D. Degree, which is awarded upon the successful defense of a doctoral dissertation in period of no less than 6 semesters. Ph.D candidates are expected to write a Ph.D. dissertation and participate in graduate seminars, colloquia, and conferences organized by the Department.


Between the academic years 2003-04 and 2007-08 the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki has been running a new undergraduate program in “Gender and Equality Studies” as part of the EPEAEK II/4.2 1B project. The aim of this program is to promote gender equality through the exploration of the social construction of gender and of the influence of gender difference and inequality in the production of knowledge and the structuring of dominant scientific paradigms. In compliance with the Program students of any Department of Aristotle University are required to attend a cycle of four (4) courses of their own choice out of a wide-range course catalogue in order to obtain the certificate of attendance issued by the Program along with the degree conferred by their individual Department.

The School of Philology participates in the following Interdisciplinary Graduate Program, which combines distance e-learning during the academic year and intensive six-week seminars during the summer:  Studies on European Literature and Culture. 

The School of Philology has also participated in the Interdisciplinary Program Modern Greek Studies and Culture (European, Balkan, Eastern) until the academic year 2008-2009.




La Trobe University, University of Salzburg, Bulgarina Aacademy of Sciences, University of St. Kliment Ohridski, State Byelorussia University & State Technological University, University of York (Canada), University Marc Bloch of Strasbourg I, Shota Rustaveli University of Batumi, University of Cologne, University of Leizpig, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, University of Lodz, Lomonosov State University, Kuban State University, University of Belgrade, University of Novi Sad, Comenius University, Kiev National ‘Taras Shevchenko’ University, Ivan Frako State University in Lviv, Odessa National State University, National Tavrida University, The Ohio State University.