The School of Philology is part of the Faculty of Philosophy of Aristotle University and comprises three academic departments: the Department of Classics, the Department of Medieval and Modern Greek Studies (MMGS) and the Department of Linguistics.

The School offers a four-year undergraduate program of study in Philology, with specializations in (a) Classics, (b) Medieval and Modern Greek Studies, and (c) Linguistics. It also offers a variety of programs for Postgraduate Diplomas in the above fields, as well as a Ph.D. program in Philology.

The School currently has 53 academic staff members, more than 2000 undergraduate students, and about 300 students reading for postgraduate degrees.